Springfield Avenue, Brough, East Yorkshire, HU15 1AE


Brough Primary School


Brough Primary School Governors


At Brough Primary School, we have 11 governors. Continue reading for further information.


Meet the Governors

Stephen Dodsworth - Chair of Governors

Bianca Wilson - Vice Chair of Governors

Helen Shepherdson - Staff Voting Head Teacher

Simon Mearns, Mark Harrison, Wendy Palmer, Mike Verdun & Karen McPherson - Co-opted Governors

Louise Eastwood & Rebecca Wilson - Parent Governors

Jenny Clark - Local Authority Governor



What do we do?

Working with the head teacher, we decide what we want Brough Primary School to achieve and set the framework to get there. In discussion with the head teacher, we set aims and objectives for the school, and agree policies, targets and priorities and then we monitor to see if these are being achieved. In essence, we are there to take the statutory decisions necessary to ensure that the school continues to improve. It is not our responsibility to manage the school or to be involved in the day to day running.

As governors we visit the school to get to know it more, and to see how the school is dealing with the issues that interest us. We work with Mrs Shepherdson in the development of the school, helping to ensure that every child reaches their potential.


How do we do this?

All the governors meet as a full governing board once a term, but a lot of our work is done through our three sub committees -Finance, Personnel and Quality and Standards-which have one or two additional meetings each term. In addition, there are also various other committees which meet to deal with specific issues such as staff appraisal or complaints. We also have named governors who have specific responsibility for scrutinising particular areas including pupil groups, Child Protection ICT.


Please click the following link to see a breakdown of the governing body roles and responsibilities and list of all future meeting dates 

Governors Meetings and Membership 2021 2022

Please click the following link to see our governors interests 

Governor Interests

Please click the following link to see our governors term of office 

Term of Office

Please click the following link to see our the governors who have resigned this academic year

Governors Resignations

Please click the following link to see the attendance of our governors

Governor Attendance


                         Helen Shepherdson                Stephen Dodsworth                             Bianca Wilson                                         Simon Mearns                  

                            Head Teacher                      Chair of Governors                                 Vice Chair                                             Staff governor                   



                         Mark Harrison                       Michael Verdun                        Jenny Clark                         Wendy Palmer                     Karen McPherson

                    Parent Governor                     Co-opted Governor       Local Authority Governor               Parent Governor                  Co-opted Governor